Review: ‘We3’

we3

We3
by Grant Morrison

  • Date Finished: May 14, 2015
  • Genre: Graphic Novels, Science Fiction
  • Year: 2014
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Spring 2015
  • Grade: B
  • Thoughts:

I never intended to read this book. To be honest, I didn’t even know it existed. But when J and I were at the library, checking out the Sandman books for our vacation, J put this volume in my hand and stressed, “You have to read this.” (Fact: J keeps up with the graphic novel scene a bit more than me nowadays. Good reason to keep him around.)

Given that this is a pretty short graphic novel, I read it at the Orlando airport while waiting for our return flight home, and at first, I didn’t know how to react. Part of me will stress that this slim volume is very good. I’m very aware of Grant Morrison and his work (one of my English classes in college focused on the graphic novel/comic book genre), though I don’t believe I’ve ever read anything solely by him. This story does not disappoint in terms of heart, action, and the cool-ness of the concept. In We3, three poor housepets (a dog, cat, and rabbit) have been captured by government scientists, given bodysuits that double as military-grade weapons, and are hardwired into killing machines. They’re meant to represent a new kind of special ops forces – one in which animals take the place of men on the killing field. However, when the government threatens to shut down the program and animals are faced with destruction, the three – who are now hyper-intelligent and trained to work together as a team – manage to escape, driven by an instinctual desire to go home.

Like I said, this is a really good, really cool story. But I give this a B because I felt, the entire time while reading it, like I might burst into tears. Why animals pull on our heart strings more than humans, I don’t know. But reading about the struggle these poor creatures face just to go home, be a “gud dog”, and survive a fate that was unfairly thrust on them, it broke my heart. It didn’t help that I’m unnaturally attached to my cats, and we were on our way home from vacation, so my mind was already on my fur babies. So, I’m glad I read this book. However, if Grant Morrison were to write another story with this concept, I might just skip it.

Leave a Reply

