Review: ‘The Sandman’, 1-4

sandman collage

The Sandman, 1-4
By Neil Gaiman

  • Date Finished: May 12, 2015
  • Genre: Graphic Novels, Fantasy/Horror
  • Year(s): 1989, 1990, 1990, 1991
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Spring 2015, NPR’s Top 100 Science Fiction Novels
  • Grade: A-
  • Thoughts:

Let me tell ya, there’s nothing like a trip to the most magical place on Earth to get you into the spirit of reading a few dark and demented graphic novels. After hearing about how amazing Neil Gaiman is for years, and especially his Sandman series, J and I finally bit the bullet and checked the first four volumes out from the library and packed them for Disney World. I’m happy to say we weren’t disappointed.

I always figured that I would like Neil Gaiman. You hear nothing but good things about the guy, and I do particularly dig creepy stories. Graphic novels is a genre/medium that I used to read quite heavily, but have strayed away from over the years for one reason or another. This series was a great re-immersion into the art form; the artwork is top-notch and you just can’t beat Gaiman’s stories about the mythical being of the Endless, the Sandman. It can get a little disturbing at times, and these stories are definitely written for adults, but Gaiman’s mix of horror and mythical fantasy is just what one looks for in great scary story – perfect for reading late at night, under the covers, or poolside in sunny Florida.

Given that these stories are all interconnected in some way, I don’t think reviewing them individually is possible. However, I gave all four a combined grade of “A-” only because given all the hype, and given the fact that I am a big fan of these kinds of stories, I didn’t love these books as much as I expected. I enjoyed them – immensely. But I can’t say that I’m obsessed with Gaiman yet, which is slightly disappointing because so many people are. Ah well, there’s still volumes 5-8, which we’ve got waiting on our dining room table. On to the next!

One thought on “Review: ‘The Sandman’, 1-4

  1. Pingback: Review: ‘The Sandman’, 5-8 | Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

