Review: ‘Bossypants’

9780316056878

Bossypants
By Tina Fey

  • Date finished: February 12, 2015
  • Genre: Memoir
  • Year: 2011
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Winter 2014-15, 65 Books You Need to Read in Your 20’s
  • Grade: A+
  • Thoughts:

So, it’s been a long week, and what feels like an even longer Friday afternoon (WHY does 5 pm take SO LONG to get here!?), so I may/may not have already drank a glass of wine before writing this review. But that’s OK. I don’t think Tina Fey would mind if I reviewed her book while I’m extra giggly.

Well first, I don’t need to be drinking to SO TOTALLY GUSH how much I LOVED this book. Why, oh why, did it take me so long to read this? Actually, I probably don’t need to say much about the content of this book, since so many wonderful things have been written and said about Bossypants, Tina Fey’s memoir. Still, I’ll try my best.

Well first, to be honest, I have never been a Tina Fey fangirl. That’s not to say I don’t like her! However, she really didn’t enter my radar until, as she notes in her book, the 2008 election when she began impersonating Sarah Palin on SNL, simultaneously becoming a “nerd chic” icon, what with her cute glasses, brown hair, and librarian-ish look. First, confession: I don’t really watch SNL. Oh, I’ll watch an especially funny skit here and there, but I’ve never been a fan of skit comedy, so I don’t really follow the show or the comedians who work there (plus, it still freaks me out that Kenan is on the show, and I totally watched him on ‘All That’ and ‘Kenan and Kel’, and yeah, I feel old). Anyway, I knew Tina Fey worked there, but it didn’t make her stand out.

To be honest, it wasn’t until ‘Mean Girls’ came out that I realized that, hey, this lady’s funny. Man, what white girl doesn’t love ‘Mean Girls’, right?

db1d75d448cf4416fccde6abfab7bfa2fd017fce05fc0fb0dcb1f4766757cd89

However, I’ve never seen an episode of ’30 Rock’, so there’s that. About a year ago, however, J and I started watching random ‘Parks and Rec’ re-runs on FX and we promptly fell in love. Learning that Tina Fey and Amy Poehler are BFFs just makes so much sense, and so even though Fey wasn’t involved in the show, I loved her more for it.

Then, I read this book, and it’s official: I fucking love Tina Fey. I. Love Her. I love her sarcasm, and her humor, and her feminism, and her insecurities, and her embarrassing stories, and the fact that she loves her dad, and the way she kicks all kinds of ass in the very male-dominated comedy industry. She’s vulgar and crude and hilarious, yet also a mother and a woman who can talk about plucking her eyebrows and curling her hair.

And I love that – ‘that’ being what Tina Fey represents – because it completely changes the game regarding the kind of person a woman can be. She can wear eye liner and love wine and chick flicks, but also curse like a sailor and enjoy a stupid, dirty joke every now and then. Or, she can drink beer and watch football, then go get her nails done the next day. A woman can be … anything she wants, and screw whoever has a problem with that.

Also, while reading this book, I especially loved the way Tina Fey talks about her life, her stupid obsessions, and her awareness of how it looks to othersReading this book made me hyper-aware of how everything that we think matters in life (the decorations for our kids’ birthday party, our hair, the way we try to be politically correct around strangers) … doesn’t really matter … at all. In reality, it’s pretty easy to see through a lot of the bullshit in our lives, and so at the end of the day, it’s best to just be yourself. Warts, bad hair, insecurities and all.

I really could go on and on about this book. Fey talks about motherhood, womanhood, feminism, etc., and there’s so much wonderful there, but there isn’t enough space or time. Just please, read this book. It’s worth it, I promise.

Plus, added benefit: moving closer to the top of my reading list is the memoir of Fey’s famous BFF, Amy Poeher. Yes, Please – let’s request you from the library right … now.

Leave a Reply

