The 21st century’s greatest novels, and more reading lists for 2015

Because really, what else is there to get motivated about during February? Oh, it’s cold outside? Let’s read more books!

First, did anyone else see the BBC’s list of the 21st Century’s 12 Greatest Novels? I think I’ve done pretty well, though you have to admit the century is pretty young. Still, the books I’ve read from this list have been more than excellent, including Wolf Hall, which was one of the best books I read last year. (I’ve read the bolded titles.)

But let’s move onto the books I haven’t read. Here are are some of my favorite “best-of” book lists I’ve been collecting since December. One book that I’m seeing over and over again is Penelope Fitzgerald by Hermoine Lee, and so I think it’s high time I officially put it on my radar. Has anyone read it?

First, the BBC’s 10 Best Books of 2014:

  • A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
  • Nora Webster by Colm Toibin
  • The Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousness by Rebecca Solnit
  • Penelope Fitzgerald by Hermione Lee
  • The Kills by Richard House
  • Wonderland by Stacey D’Erasmo
  • Some Luck by Jane Smiley
  • An Untamed State by Roxane Gay
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson
  • Euphora by Lily King

Then, there’s the New York Times’ 10 Best Books of 2014. Hey, some of these look familiar.

  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill
  • Euphoria by Lily King
  • Family Life by Akhil Sharma
  • Redeployment by Phil Kay
  • Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast
  • On Immunity: An Innoculation by Eula Biss
  • Penelope Fitzgerald by Hermione Lee
  • The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert
  • Thirteen Days in September: Carter, Begin, and Sadat at Camp David by Lawrence Wright

There’s also the New York Times’ 100 Notable Books of 2014, none of which I will be listing here. I can say that just as with the above lists, I have read … none of the 100 notable books for 2014. Let’s just say I will not want for good reading recommendations for a good while.

Leave a Reply

