Recent recipes I’ve pinned, tried, and now love

Like a lot of young women with free time and a pulse, I love me some Pinterest. While much of my Pinterest activity involves a lot of mindless scrolling and staring at pretty pictures (which is not a bad way to spend some downtime), I am known as an active pinner – particularly of recipes.

And while others have to make New Year’s resolutions to actually do the stuff they find on Pinterest, I have no trouble trying out a new Pinterest recipe whenever I can. In fact, I would say that 75 percent of my meal-planning comes from Pinterest. I really do like to cook, and given the fact that we make 90 percent our meals at home, I’m always looking for something new to mix up the nightly routine.

For the blog, I’m thinking it might be fun to highlight some of my more recent favorite recipes from Pinterest, so – ya know – you have a better idea of what’s cooking around here. I promise – it all tastes good. Here’s what we’ve been eating lately:

20-Minute Spicy Siracha Ramen Noodle Soup
(From Baker By Nature)

IMG_20241-682x1024

Photo Credit: Baker By Nature

Siracha soup may seem like a strange dish, but oh my goodness, so good. I will say: while making this, I told J that it was one of the weirdest soup-making experiences I’ve ever had (it included sauteing chopped onion, and a chopped roma tomato, in sesame oil). But in the end, it all works out, and it’s simply the perfect soup for the super cold days we’ve been having lately. We had this after shoveling our driveway while the temps were in the single digits, so we did not mind the heat. Because, did I mention, this soup can be hot. It’s not too terribly bad, though, and you could cut down the amount of Siracha you use to cool it down. But then, it’s Siracha? Why would you want less?

Crockpot Carne Asada Nachos
(From How Sweet It Is)

carneasada-3

Photo Credit: How Sweet It Is

Omg guys, but this is just one of those recipes where I feel compelled to say …erhmegerd. We actually made this a few months ago, but it’s still on my mind. The beef is SO EASY to make in the crockpot, and it tastes SO GOOD. I’d make this beef for any kind of Mexican dish, including beef tacos or beef enchiladas, but this recipe is tops: line a cookie sheet, or pizza pan, with a bunch of taco chips, top it with the beef, and then cheese, and then any other nacho goodness you love. OMG. J and I may have eaten an entire pan of this in one sitting. #notashamed

Sesame Chicken Egg Rolls
(From Carlsbad Cravings)

Sesame-Chicken-Egg-Rolls-main2

This recipe was a little bit more of a challenge, and a little messier at that, but it was also surprisingly easy (in its own way) and very delicious. I love egg rolls, and I love sesame chicken, and given how easy it would be for J and I to waste a lot of money on Chinese takeout, I’m always on the lookout  for ways to do Asian at home. I bought a “stir fry” sauce to make this recipe easier, though I’ve been known to improvise my own with the dozen of Asian ingredients we’ve accumulated over the years. Even given that investment, all you really need for this recipe is egg roll wrappers, some chicken, and some stir fry veggies (which you can buy frozen for, like, $1). Constructing them took time, and I got a little lazy at the end, PLUS mine were super huge (more like MEGA EGGROLLS!)….but they still tasted awesome.

One thought on “Recent recipes I’ve pinned, tried, and now love

  1. I love that you actually cook pinterest recipes! That’s what I did long before I started my food blog. So happy you to hear you enjoyed my egg rolls! Now I need to try the Sriracha Ramen Noodle Soup and Carne Asada Nachos! yum!

Leave a Reply

