$3 closet reorganization project

When we moved into our house, we were constantly amazed at the space we had. Look at us! We can do a dance in our kitchen! We have TWO rooms with couches now! We have a bedroom, a guest bedroom, AND an office? Whoa!

Closet space, on the other hand, has been quite a different issue. Our house was built in 1940, a time when spacious walk-ins and multiple linen closets weren’t at the top of the priority list. Now, on the one hand, we don’t have an issue with closet space: the former homeowners converted the tiny fourth bedroom upstairs into not just a walk-in closet, but a closet room. The bedroom where we sleep doesn’t have a closet, but that’s OK, because – an organizer’s dream come true! – all of our clothes and linens are beautifully organized in this huge space.

Other than that, there’s two medium-sized closets in the office, a smallish closet in the guest bedroom, and a coat closet. There’s also one VERY small closet on the first floor that must serve as the spot where all cleaning products, extra lightbulbs, and other necessities must live.

When we first moved in, I tried my best at getting everything in there and at least grouped with like items, but it was a mess. I can’t handle a mess for very long. My eye starts to twitch. And so, I picked up three $1 purple weave baskets (made of some interesting material) at the Dollar Store, and off we go!

I’m happy with the results, even though the space is still pretty tight. The purple baskets pulled through like a dream – you know what, they’re purple and they’re behind a closed closet door all day, who cares what they’re made of? Also during this process, I discovered: a nice square glass vase, courtesy of the former homeowners; a mess of lightbulbs, also thanks to the former homeowners; and a kitchen sponge I didn’t know we had. Good thing I didn’t buy a new sponge!

Here’s how I did it:

Two of my purple baskets with bathroom essentials on the left, and other necessities of life on the right (sunscreen, anti-bacterial wipes, etc.)

Two of my purple baskets with bathroom essentials on the left, and other necessities of life on the right (sunscreen, anti-bacterial wipes, etc.)

I put this together while we were still living at the townhouse, but it's one of my favorite things. My mom gave me this organizer as a "bridal emergency kit" when I got married. I've put all our frequently-used medicines in here, including cold medicine, cough drops, allergy pills, and a thermometer.

I put this together while we were still living at the townhouse, but it’s one of my favorite things. My mom gave me this organizer as a “bridal emergency kit” when I got married. I’ve put all our frequently-used medicines in here, including cold medicine, cough drops, allergy pills, and a thermometer.

This was a basket we already had, filled with more first aid-type stuff. The purple box has all our extras/double medications, while there's also rubbing alcohol, calamine lotion, a cold pack, and a bandage.

This was a basket we already had, filled with more first aid-type stuff. The purple box has all our extras/double medications, while there’s also rubbing alcohol, calamine lotion, a cold pack, and a bandage.

My cleaning tote, which I've had for years now. It's an egg crate and I carry it around with me wherever I'm cleaning. I stuck an old shoe box in one corner to corral all the small and oddly-shaped bottles. I stick my duster in the front and hang my cleaning gloves, so they're handy.

My cleaning tote, which I’ve had for years now. It’s an egg crate and I carry it around with me wherever I’m cleaning. I stuck an old shoe box in one corner to corral all the small and oddly-shaped bottles. I stick my duster in the front and hang my cleaning gloves, so they’re handy.

My two (!) shelves in this tiny closet. There's some more frequently-used medicines lined up on the second shelf. The top shelf, meanwhile, is all lighbulbs, with random bulbs and small packages hidden in the third purple basket. The rest are lined up so I can see them easier.

The two shelves where 90 percent of the stuff must go. There’s some more frequently-used medicines lined up on the second shelf. The top shelf, meanwhile, is all lighbulbs, with random bulbs and small packages hidden in the third purple basket. The rest are lined up so I can see them easier.

And that's about all the space I have. You can't see it, but there's hooks on the inside of the door for a broom and dustpan. I hang my organizer over the broom. Below the two shelves, my vaccume and dust-buster JUST fit, although the poor swiffer mop is stuck with no real place to go.

And that’s about all the space I have. You can’t see it, but there’s hooks on the inside of the door for a broom and dustpan. I hang my organizer over the broom. Below the two shelves, my vaccume and dust-buster JUST fit, although the poor swiffer mop is stuck with no real place to go.

Leave a Reply

