A belated mid-year reading update

I keep forgetting to do this, and if I don’t do it soon, 2014 will be more than halfway over – wait a  minute, 2014 IS more than halfway over! I can’t believe it.  Shut the front door.

Anyway, I thought I’d take a look at where I am for reading this year. I’ve set somewhat ambitious goals for myself, namely to read 50 books this year (I read 32 in 2012, and 40 in 2013). Fifty doesn’t sound like a lot compared to other book bloggers, but it’s a stretch goal for me, given that the books I read are usually very long, and very involved. No YA books here! (Though, there’s nothing wrong with that if that’s what you love.) Plus, there’s the whole grad school thing, and roller derby thing…I’m busy.

All that being said, I’m feeling really good about where I am with the number of pages read so far this year. Though I haven’t yet hit the 25 books point (halfway to my goal), I have surpassed the halfway point in terms of pages read compared to last year, meaning I’m on track to beat last year’s page count. So, even if I don’t actually make it to 50 individual books this year (and I refuse to cheat by purposely picking shorter books), I’ll at least be reading more.

Here’s where I am so far:

  • Books read: 21
  • Pages read: 8,269 (compared to 15,289 pages read in 2013)
  • Favorite books so far (grades of A+): A Walk in the Woods (Bill Bryson), All the King’s Men (Robert Penn Warren), Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel)
  • Worst books so far (grades of C or below): The Search for the Giant Squid (Richard Ellis), Magnolia City (Duncan R. Alderson)
  • Prize winners: Tinkers by Paul Harding (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction), All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction), Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (Booker Prize)

These numbers are due to change within the week; I’m THIS close to finishing The Fountainhead, which will add another 600+ pages to my total tally, and I’m about one-third of the way done with A Storm of Swords already, which is a 900+-page brick. Then, there’s the 500+ The Secret History waiting on the sidelines, so I’m due to totally win in the pages category this year.

Also, can I just say how much I love Google Drive (or Docs)? This year, I’ve worked so much on Google Drive, with both word documents as well as spreadsheets that track various parts of my life. Let’s just say I love spreadsheets. Spreadsheets! Organization!

Leave a Reply

