Great Quotes: ‘The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing’

There’s a passageway connecting Port Authority to Times Square – the Eighth Avenue subways to the Seventh – and one morning when I looked up I saw a poem up in the eaves, sequential like the Burma Shave billboards:

Overslept.
So tired.
If late,
Get fired.
Why bother?
Why the pain?
Just go home.
Do it again.

Something changed then. I saw my life in scale: it was just my life. It was not momentous, and only now did I recognize that it had once seemed so to me; that was while my father was watching.

I saw myself the way I’d seen the cleaning women in the building across the street. I was just one person in one window.

No one was watching, except me.

– The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing

Leave a Reply

