Monday Update: Dec. 2, 2013

Displaying photo.JPG

Our Christmas tree is up!

Time: 4:45 p.m.

Place: In my living room, chilling with some hot apple cider after a long, long day.

Reason for the long day: Two words: jury duty. I was first called for jury duty back in August, but I was able to snag a postponement because I was just about to start my job with 2nd & Charles and needed to fly to Alabama for training. When they postponed to Dec. 2, I thought, “Eh, whatever.” Not thinking that, hey, Dec. 2 begins the two weeks before the end of the fall semester. It also marks the busiest time of the year for the retail season. Anyway, I was not able to postpone again so I showed up, hoping for a boring day of reading and not being picked for a jury. But oh, lucky me, I was part of the very first group taken to a trial, and was the second juror selected for that jury! Yay! Anyway, it’s (hopefully) a short civil trial so I figure it’s the best I could hope for (other than not being selected at all). It’s better than being stuck on a criminal trial during finals week – eek!

Reading: So, I was hoping to get some serious reading done today but alas, that was not in the cards. And so, I have still not finished The Razor’s Edge, although I should be doing so very, very soon. Then, it’s the beginning of my winter reading list, which I’ll discuss in depth later.

Displaying photo.JPG

Mr. B relishing the fact that he is a cat, and holiday stress, for him, is minimal.

Cooking: Last night, we made the World’s Best Lasagna (named so because it is), though I had the heat up a little too high while simmering the sauce, so it burned a little. Oops! Tonight, I’m making sesame chicken in the crockpot and tomorrow, some cheesy vegetable soup. That’s because between derby and closing shifts, the rest of the week is too BUSY for cooking and is just screaming for a boatload of leftovers.

Relieved: That Black Friday at the store wasn’t a total disaster. I was the closing manager, and we managed to keep things together most of the day, so it felt simply like a busy Saturday. Of course, I had some…difficult…customers who wouldn’t. leave. the. store. after we announced that we were CLOSED. Ugh. I don’t care, sir, if you just bought $300 worth of stuff. You chose to check out 1 minute before we closed our doors, you insisted our cashier read your entire order to you multiple times, and then you loitered while your wife answered a phone call. Unless you plan on paying for our payroll, get your butt OUTSIDE so that I can count the money and get everyone out of here when they’re supposed to.

Excited For: This coat! (http://www.columbia.com/Women%E2%80%99s-Mighty-Lite%E2%84%A2-Hooded-Jacket/WL5033,default,pd.html) I’ve been mulling a new coat purchase for a while now, after realizing that I’m tired of being cold during Michigan winters, and while my pea coats are cute, they’re not made for horizontal snow and 10 degree mornings when I have to dig out my car. I bought the coat from Columbia last night when it was discounted $35, so how could I say no? Just call it my end-of-the-semester present to myself.

Speaking of Christmas Presents: I gotta get on that. I have ideas for just about everyone, though my brothers presents a perennial challenge.

Still Amazed: That not only did I finish a 10K last week, but I actually did a good job! Joel, my brother and I participated in the 104th annual Turkey Trot in downtown Cincinnati, and I was dreading it. I didn’t train beforehand, and I hadn’t been running in awhile. However, not only did I survive, but I managed to run the entire 6.2 miles (the first time I’ve done that…ever), and I finished in 1 hour and 6 minutes, not far behind Joel and my brother! Of course, my legs were INFURIATED with me the next few days.

Leave a Reply

