Review: ‘How to Archer’

archer

How to Archer

by Sterling Archer

  • Date Finished: Nov. 16, 2013
  • Genre: Humor
  • Year: 2012
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Fall 2013
  • Grade: A
  • Thoughts upon reading:

OK, there’s no need to write a lengthy review of this one, although I’m not going to lie: I loved it. A co-worker loaned me this book upon discovering that I too was a huge fan of the FX show Archer. For the uninitiated, Archer is pretty much the amazing show ever about the “world’s greatest super spy” Archer and the ridiculous things that happen to him and his co-workers at ISIS, the super spy agency run by his mother.

Before I embark on a post with my favorite Archer clips, I will say something semi-smart: sometimes, it pays to read something completely out of the ordinary. I’ve got a long list of books to read, and even though I love Archer, a book written by the show’s writers wasn’t at the top of my priority list. But when my co-worker graciously brought it in to work, I thought, “Why not?” And I’m glad I did. I finished it in about three sittings (Archer isn’t the most difficult author, even if he is the world’s greatest super spy), and I laughed out loud at nearly every other page (even when on my lunch break at work, when anyone could walk by and think I was having a seizure). Also, as someone else once said, I could listen to H. John Benjamin read the phone book.

I can’t really describe the dry, sardonic, completely stupid humor of Archer, though, so I guess this is going to have to do:

Leave a Reply

