50 Incredibly Tough Books for Extreme Readers

You know, that I know, that you know I like reading lists. I like looking over lists of books, highlighting the ones I’ve read, thinking about what that says about myself, and plotting how to someday…one day…read everything on the list because I am, after all, a BAMF.

My reading lists here at Paperback Fool are getting a LITTLE out of control, but I think I may have to add this list from Flavorwire: 50 Incredibly Tough Books for Extreme Readers. I think the list goes perfectly with my Big Books Project, in which I tackle a monster book twice a year, checking them off the life list and taking care of business. But, I like the moniker “extreme reader” too. Definitely me.

I’m thinking this Flavorwire list, then, is a challenge. Well, challenge accepted Flavorwire! These are the books I’ve already read (including one of my favorite books of all time!):

  • The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
  • Geek Love – Katherine Dunn
  • To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
  • The Silmarillion – J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad (read so many times for school also to be a favorite)
  • War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  • The Canterbury Tales – Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Sophie’s Choice – William Styron
Leave a Reply

