Nerd alert: Old catalog cards from the Library of Congress

OK, I’ll admit it. I’m a dork. I’m also studying toward my Masters in Library Science, am looking to work in libraries someday, and LOVE organization. So how can I not geek out when someone creates stationary using images from original Library of Congress catalog cards for classic novels?

card 1

The part of me that actually enjoys the “Organization of Knowledge” course I’m taking is geeking out at all the MARC format changes. Hey look! It’s a main heading!

card 2It’s amazing to see that these cards were originally created before many of these authors, from Camus to F. Scott Fitzgerald, died. I love the handwritten death dates. Who gets to do that, anyway?

card 3I love the description of Self Reliance here. And the handwriting.

Leave a Reply

