Librarian Shaming: Awesomesauce

hiding from patrons

I already do this with customers at the bookstore.

So while I was perusing Shelf Awareness the other day, I came across this Tumblr, Librarian Shaming. And. It’s. Awesome.

Seriously, reading all these librarians’ dirty little secrets – like using Wikipedia and Google to answer reference questions, and a children’s librarian admitting to hating the Harry Potter series – actually makes me feel better about my future career. Because, it means that librarians aren’t perfect. It means that we have a sense of humor. It means I don’t have to stress out about memorizing all these random, outdated reference sources. It means that there’s a strong sense of community.

Can’t wait. In fact, even though I’m not a librarian, I have my own “shameful” moment I’d like to share. But not here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

