Sunday Notes: July 28, 2013

Time: 10:09 p.m. … late-night blogging!

Place: The living room, with some nice jazz playing in the background.

Eating: Chocolate

Drinking: Wine…because how else do you relax other than a piece of dark chocolate and a glass of white wine?

Reading: I’m currently making my way through The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor, which I picked up at the library last week. I wanted to read Le Petit Prince first, but unbelievably, both my library and the bookstore where I work didn’t have it. LAME. I’ve wanted to read Flannery O’Connor’s complete stories for quite some time – I’m a big fan of Southern fiction and have a soft spot for Ms. O’Connor’s particularly brand of morbid. I’ve only read A Good Man Is Hard to Find and Other Stories, so some of the stories are repeats, but most are new. I’m kinda loving the fact that I’m reading so much Southern fiction this summer: Southern stories bring to mind sweltering days and steamy nights – just the kind of mood I want to be in for summer. Of course, it was 55 degrees out today, but that’s just Michigan for you.  Still, thoughts of summer and Flannery O’Connor go hand-in-hand and I’m loving it.

Dismayed About: Upon telling a co-worker that I was reading Flannery O’Connor, I recently received a look of, “Uh, who?” Let’s just reiterate: I work at a bookstore. Also, there are people who have never heard of Flannery O’Connor. Granted, not everyone is a book nerd (see earlier post) who reads far into the backlist. But still. What is this world coming to?

Watching: Not much to be honest, though Joel and I did watch Iron Man on TV Friday night. Mmmm, Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark…

Studying: Finals week is here! All I have to do to wrap up this semester is finish compiling my e-portfolio, which requires a little bit of work and some writing time. It’s due Thursday and I have Wednesday off, though I hate the idea of doing everything the day before it’s due – it just goes against my entire work ethic this semester. However, this weekend was BUSY, so there wasn’t much time to get ahead. Strangely enough, I’m feeling super chill and confident this finals week, though I’m definitely looking forward to my three weeks off.

Homemaking: My parents are coming to visit this weekend, so we’re planning on a special fondue dinner this Saturday, which I’m super excited about. The best part? Well, there’s two: the surprise dessert (can’t tell in case my dad is reading this!), or the fact that I plan on making the pretzel bits for dipping MYSELF. I’ve never really made bread before, so we’ll see how this goes.

Excited About: Joel and I dragged our butts out of bed early this morning so that Joel could participate in his second duathalon of the year – his third multi-sport event if you count last month’s triathalon. He did great, as always. I’m so proud of him and love serving as his cheer squad, manager and pack wife (someone has to tote around the post-race doughnuts).

Anticipating: Some potentially exciting/tough decisions to make at work are now looming. I’m not going to say much, but let’s just say (again) that this little part-time job I took to make some extra cash has turned into a lot of responsibility. I’m definitely open to more responsibility and management experience; the question now is where and how.

Leave a Reply

