5 Summer Gems and Other NRP Book Lists

I love it when NPR puts together a book list. They’re always just so…right. And interesting. And eye-opening. I like it when any major news outlet puts together a well-thought-out book list, but NPR does it often and they do it in small chunks (five books instead of 105, or something ridiculous).

56205-Aint-nobody-got-time-for-that-J7do

Look! I can do gifs just like Buzzfeed!

Anyway, the first list that caught my eye was NPR’s 5 Summer Books That Deserve More Fanfare. Then, I found the sidebar of lists from Summer 2013. Goldmine!

Now that I’m working at a regular bookstore, I can take home ARCs that publishers send the store about once a week. Most of the time, it’s some goofy romance novel, but somtimes we hit a goldmine. In one week, we recieved the new Jhumpa Lahiri book, plus the new Jonathan Letham and Martha Pessl (I took home the Jhumpa Lahiri while the only other co-worker seriously into literary fiction took home the other ones). 

Needless to say, I’m more aware of new fiction and have more opportunities to read it now (for free!). And so, to help both I and you, here’s some linky-links to help you discover NPR’s summer of reading.

Leave a Reply

