How to Read More

The key to reading lots of book begins with stop thinking of it as some activity that you do. Reading must become as natural as eating and breathing to you. It’s not something you do because you feel like it, but because it’s a reflex, a default.

Carry a book with you at all times. Every time you get a second, crack it open. Don’t install games on your phone–that’s time you could be reading. When you’re eating, read. When you’re on the train, in the waiting room, at the office–read. It’s work, really important work. Don’t let anyone ever let you feel like it’s not.

Do you know how much time you waste during the day? Conference calls, meetings, TV shows that you don’t really like but watch anyway. Well, if you can make time for that you can make time for reading. (Or better, just swap those activities for books)

Thought Catalog

Pretty much, people. That’s how you read. And when people ask me how I read so many books, all I can tell them is, “Well, I actually read, a lot. Instead of doing other things.”

Of course, I disagree with this writer’s assessment of libraries: “This isn’t like renting a mindless movie. You should be keeping the books you read for reference and for re-reading. If you are OK giving the books back after two weeks you might want to examine what you are reading.”

OK, I sorta agree with that. There are certain books (aka, a lot of them) that I will make sure I buy, no matter what. And in the long run, I prefer to own my books. However, why diss the library when it is a GREAT resource for reading ALL the books…for free? I don’t have a lot of spare cash nowadays (mainly because I moved my career from journalism to books). And so, if I really want to read The Feminine Mystique, but don’t feel like breaking out my wallet, where do I go? The library. Which I did. Because even if I don’t own the books, it doesn’t mean that I can’t read them and learn from them. Ah the beauty of the American public library system.

Plus (mini soapbox speech right here): how does this writer expect to appeal to those with lower incomes with his/her dismissal of libraries? And their justification: instead of spending your money on stupid stuff, buy books instead. Okkkkk, but what if it’s a choice between food and rent, and books? They’re not going to Barnes & Noble, that’s for sure. This is why there are reading gaps between students of different socio-economic levels. It’s not your fault if you were born into poverty. Mocking the only opportunity some of these budding readers have to gain access to books and information is horribly small-minded. And most importantly, it’s not helping those people read more – at all.

Leave a Reply

