Sunday Update: July 14, 2013

Time: 4 p.m.

Place: My back porch, which is a little sweltering right now but it feels good to be outside.

Eating: Nothing at the moment though tonight we’re having WINE AND CHEESE DINNER! Oh yeah.

Drinking: Water, and maybe some lemonade. Oh, and don’t forget the WINE later.

Reading: I just finished The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers this afternoon and will soon be starting my “Big Book” of the summer: The Odyssey. You can do this, Laura. Just keep telling yourself that. I read The Iliad for “fun” in college, so I can handle The Odyssey, right? Sure.

Watching: A good bunch of nothing lately, which I’m OK with. I don’t want to sound stupid and pretentious, but between school and work, I seriously don’t have time to watch TV, and with that has gone all interest. When I’m home from work during the week, I’m usually worried about schoolwork, or making time for roller derby. Or, planning trips to Grand Rapids. Or, making surprise cupcakes from scratch for Joel’s birthday. Or, going on 8-mile bike rides as soon as I wake up on Sunday. I know this is supposedly the “golden age of television” right now, but wasting hours just watching a show just doesn’t sound like a good use of my time. Plus, if I have spare time, you’ll usually find me reading.

Studying: Last week was a weird one for school…one of my professors failed to post any announcements, lectures or assignments all week long, and she hasn’t responded to my email either. While that made for a light week, it also worries me a little. Anyway, I have a big Access project due next week, so that’s what I’ll be spending MY free time doing during the next few days.

Homemaking: Did I say I made cupcakes from scratch? Seriously, I don’t know if I’ve ever made cake without a boxed mix. While I made this fruit cobbler for Joel’s “official” birthday, I made these cherry-almond cupcakes as a surprise on Joel’s actual birthday, when I was working during the evening. They were a labor of love but are SO GOOD. Also a plus on the home front: Joel cleaned my car today. Yes!

Excited About: While I gotta work all five days this week, I have next weekend completely OFF, and I have no plans on going anywhere! What a concept! We’ll be meeting up with some friends we haven’t seen in far too long for dinner and a trip to see Pacific Rim (another part of Joel’s birthday present).

Anticipating: Getting back into shape! I have seriously let myself go in recent weeks, what with all the craziness and busyness and generally stressy-ness of June. I went to roller derby practice on Wednesday – the first time in a long time – and man did it hurt. Joel and I seriously on a healthy living kick and are trying to whip our asses back into shape FAST.

Leave a Reply

