My latest book haul

Twice a year, my town’s library hosts an amazing book sale to raise funds for the library. Now I’ve been to library sales all over the place, including the Cincinnati Public Library once upon a time. But seriously, nothing compares this book sale. I live in a particularly upscale and wealthy area, meaning a good majority of books donated are sure to be 1) relatively recent titles and 2) in good shape. I’ve found so many great books, and in great condition, at these sales.

Plus, it doesn’t hurt that paperbacks (meaning even TRADE PAPERBACKS) are only $1.

The library book sale is where I really buy my books nowadays: I’ll take home a bagful and read them all throughout the next six months, interspersed with what I already have, library books and a few choice books I choose to buy new. Needless to say, going to the sale is pretty serious. I know what I want, and I know what to look out for.

Here’s the latest haul: 12 books for $12. Not bad. Not as awesome as last fall, when I showed up during the last few hours and got about 11 books FOR FREE (it was bag day and the ladies running the sale gave everyone a free bag, saying they wanted to make sure we got what we wanted). But still, they had a great selection this spring and I found some gems in really good condition.

books2

What I got:

  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
  • Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
  • Lit by Mary Karr
  • Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
  • A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
  • The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos

What I didn’t get:

I was a little disappointed, but I couldn’t find any mass market Stephen King books I hadn’t read yet. Bummer.

One thought on “My latest book haul

  1. Pingback: Monday Update: Nov. 4, 2013 | Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

