Impressions of ‘Anna Karenina’ – the movie

So I just returned home from seeing the new Anna Karenina film, and I feel I have to record some impressions before I forget.

  • First, seeing a movie by yourself isn’t that bad. You can have your own slushie and cry at all the emotional trailers you want.
  • I had to wait til I got to my car afterward to shout this out but, “THAT MOVIE WAS AMAZING.”
  • The movie itself is unlike any movies I’ve ever seen, and while I was worried the format might be weird at first, I now think it’s brilliant. What am I talking about? Go see the movie and find out.
  • I love Kiera Knightly. In everything she does.
  • Matthew MacFayden was amazing! After watching him as Mr. Darcy for so long, I didn’t know what to think of him in another role but he was an amazing Stiva. Also: did he really gain that much weight or did they put a fat suit on him?
  • I don't want to imagine Mr. Darcy getting this chubby.

    I don’t want to imagine Mr. Darcy getting this chubby.

  • I’m not a fan of blondes and on first sight, he’s not my type. But wow. Vronsky. You go, actor guy. You totally made Vronsky crazy desirable. PLUS, there’s emotional depth! Brilliant!
  • Who knew Vronsky could cry?

    Who knew Vronsky could cry?

  • Two things I think were a little off from the book or my interpretation of the book (it’s been awhile since I read it): Alexei was a little too sympathetic, especially at the beginning. He’s supposed to be very cold and I think Jude Law is just too sweet and adorable to act super cold for long. Also, he’s not entirely non-crazy either. He starts listening to a clairvoyent toward the end, which is why he denies Anna’s request for a divorce.  Second: I remember Vronsky as being more of an arrogant ass, and I’m pretty sure he said some ass-like things that drove Anna to suicide. He was also a tad too sympathetic.
  • Oh that’s right. There’s also that whole Kitty and Levin storyline. Kudos to the filmmakers to making Levin kinda handsome for a skinny redhead.
  • Look at my luscious red locks before I chop this hay.

    Look at my luscious red locks before I chop this hay.

All that being said, I loved it. I loved it all.

Leave a Reply

