Fin: ‘The Dark Tower’

The Dark Tower

by Stephen King

  • Date finished: Aug. 5, 2012
  • Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
  • Year: 2004
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading list: Summer 2012
  • Quick thoughts upon finishing: I will actually make these thoughts “quick” this time, instead of writing a Stephen King-esque novel like last time. Shortly put, it’s hard to say much about the last Dark Tower novel without giving too much away because, boy oh boy, things happen. Shit goes down, as some might say. I will say that the last Dark Tower novel is definitely the most heartbreaking and the most revealing. All isn’t revealed, but a lot of it is. My only critique (besides the ending, though I will say Stephen King warns you of reading til the very end) is that it’s really two books. If you read it, you’ll know where the split should be. That being said, the only way a split would work is if the second half had a little more action — a little more adventure. As it stands right now, the first half is a complete novel. The second half is absolutely necessary, but still feels like an addendum.
  • But ALL that being said, the Dark Tower is still one of my favorite fantasy series of all time. I am glad, though, that I’m done: since the beginning of June, all I’ve done is re-read Stephen King books. I’m ready for something new.
Leave a Reply

