Changing the reading list, or: “Who doesn’t carry John Fowles?”

So, now that I’m done with The Dark Tower series, I was excited to go forward with the last two books on my summer reading list: The French’s Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles and Mornings on Horseback by David McCulloch. Both fairly well-known books. By two well-known authors. I chose these two because they’ve been on my Reading List forever: ever since I first tore out a list of “25 Books to Read Before You’re 25” from Seventeen Magazine.

Well, wouldn’t you know but one of my local Barnes & Noble didn’t have either book. Grrr. I mean, seriously? I hate to say it, but this why big-box bookstores are going out of business. I’m not saying all bookstores are perfect (Lord do I know), but it seems like a place like Barnes & Noble should carry at least one copy of John Fowles’ most famous novel.

Anyway, I bought Lolita and Swamplandia! instead. I’m looking forward to reading both. As for the ones B&N didn’t have? I guess I’ll order it from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Changing the reading list, or: “Who doesn’t carry John Fowles?”

  1. Pingback: Fin: ‘Swamplandia!’ « Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

