PF Cooks: tomato and feta salad

I’m not a fan of raw onions. Or red wine vinegar (at least in amounts I can taste it). But I still wanted to try this recipe from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at Home.

It was really easy. And it turned out really tasty.

Sometimes I surprise myself. I made this as a side dish for our cheese/salami/crackers dinner last night, and Joel and I couldn’t stop eating it. We barely left any for lunch today.

  • 2 pints of cherry tomatoes, red or mixed colors
  • 3/4 cup small-diced red onion (or not, if you’re like me and don’t read directions clearly)
  • 2 tablespoons good white wine vinegar or champagne vinegar (it wouldn’t be an Ina recipe if there wasn’t a “good” modifer in there)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 3/4 pound feta cheese

Cut the tomatoes in half and place them in a large bowl. Add the onion, vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper, basil and parsley and toss well. Dice the feta into 1/2-3/4 inch dice, crumbling it as little as possible. Gently gold it into the salad and serve at room temperature.

Nom and enjoy.

Speaking of recipes, I spent a lot of time this afternoon catching up on the Pioneer Woman and now I want to make this raspberry crisp and these tortillas rollups.

Leave a Reply

