Up Next: ‘Netherland’

Netherland by Joseph O’Neill

  • Date Began: April 27, 2012
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Spring 2012
  • Back of the book: Unexpectedly finding himself marooned among the strange occupants of New York’s Chelsea Hotel, feeling lost in the country he has come to regard as home, Hans van den Brock begns an unlikely friendship with Chuck Ramkissoon, a charming Trinidadian who introduces Hans to an “other” America populated by immigrants ans strivers of every race and nationality.
  • Awards: 2009 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and the 2009 Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award.

Note: I hope you enjoy the new category I’ve added to my What Next feature: awards! This is to replace what has become the boring categories: “Where did you get this book” and “Why did you pick it up.” So often with me, those questions are answered: “a used book store/used book sale” and “because I felt like it?/because it’s famous?” Why I’m answering questions with questions … I’ll never know. Anyway, fancy awards and critical acclaim are how I make my reading lists, so maybe listing the awards will provide more of an insightful glance into the “why” of Laura’s reading life.

Leave a Reply

