Fin: ‘No Country for Old Men’

No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy

  • Date Finished: April 26, 2012
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Year: 2005
  • Project: n/a
  • Reading List: Spring 2012
  • Quick thoughts upon finishing: It took me a hard-earned day off to finally finish No Country for Old Men. If that tells you anything. Ugh, it sure says something to me: weeks of work kicking my ass, feeling in a funk, jam-packed weekends, wedding planning on overdrive, no time to blog, not being able to get into any book, let alone one I was already predisposed to dislike.
  • Anyway, but that’s just me complaining. I say I was predisposed to dislike No Country for Old Men because I’ve already seen the 2008 Coen brothers film based on the novel, and that left a bad taste in my mouth. I mean, it’s wasn’t bad. But I think the violence turned me off, and I’ve never been one for westerns. Anyway, a reader here commented that the book by Cormac McCarthy was similiar to the movie, and I have to say I agree. Very stark realism, bleak, violent, dusty, drugs, Texas, country sheriffs, trailers, cowboy boots, hitmen, mysterious sachels full of money, guns, Mexican dope dealers. For some, this is a recipe for an awesome story. For me .. eh, it’s not my taste.
  • That being said, I will say that the character of Chigurh is one of the most interesting I’ve come across in some time. He is completely … unethical? Anti-ethical? Moral systems are completely outside him. However he ruthlessly follows through with what he sees as fate — what he thinksneedsto be done. If I were still an active English major, maybe my thoughts would be less muddled and I could compare him to, I don’t know, the Anti-Christ. But for now, Chigurh has thrown a lever in my ability to dechipher his character. And that’s not always a bad thing.
  • Grade: B-
Leave a Reply

