Oops: ‘Flowers for Algernon’

So I was all set to begin reading my next book on my spring reading list — Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. Joel had a copy lying around the house so I thought, why not? It’s always popping up on reading lists, people’s bookshelves, etc. Plus, after my good run with Don’t Let Me Go, I thought another science fiction tale might not be a bad idea.

But whoops. I was writing my “Up Next” entry for Flowers for Algernon and I realized: Flowers for Algernon is a novel. It is not a play. But what I had was a play. Hmmm. Then I actually read the first page and realized that “A full-length play by David Rogers, based on the novel by Daniel Keyes” was not the same thing as the actual book.

Oops.  So I guess I’m not reading Flowers for Algernon next. I mean, I could read the play but it’s not exactly the same thing. And I’d rather read the original story first.

So, does this mean that I should distrust all of Joel’s books? What other un-read books have been lying around, waiting to fool me?

does NOT equal

Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

