But then, I still really like new books

My haul from my library’s fall book sale:

  • The Night Shift by Stephen King
  • Tender is the Night  by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
  • Netherland by Joseph O’Neill
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  • Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

Except for No Country for Old Men, all of these were in tip-top shape, especially The Blind Assassin and Lord of Misrule. I swear, I must sound so snobby going through and picking out my books. Joel says “How about this one?” Me: “Mmm, yeah but it’s crappy.” What can I say? I worked at a used bookstore as a used book buyer! No water damaged book is entering my library.

Anyway, a good-sized haul although I think I had better luck at last spring’s sale. Of course, that was when I was found my perfect copy of The Similarion, thus completing my Tolkien collection, thus making it a good day. And maybe I’m used to my library’s book sales now, but I saw a lot of the same stuff. It was mind-boggling how many copies of The Elegance of the Hedgehog there was considering how fantastic a book it is (seriously people, that’s a keeper!). But then, used book sales have their patterns and I still contend that this book sale is better than most. I mean, really — Margaret Atwood in perfect condition? You don’t know what you’re missing folks.

Anyway, these will make the reading list … eventually. I just finished The Shipping News last night (finally!) and I don’t think I’m going to finish both books still on my Fall 2011 reading list by the end of the month. And I promised Joel I would read the Scott Pilgrim graphic novels. And did I forget to mention I bought Under the Dome by Stephen King for a cool $1.37 during my last trip to the Half Price stomping grounds?

Oh new books. I still love thee.

Leave a Reply

