Next Up: ‘The Sun Also Rises’

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

  • Date began: Oct. 27, 2011
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Project: Revisiting the Classics
  • Reading List: Fall 2011, Newsweek’s Top 100 Books
  • Got it: I think I first bought my copy of The Sun Also Rises from my high school’s bookstore, probably before first period.
  • Why I picked it up: Well, I first read this Hemingway classic as part of a 10th grade American Literature class. I’m re-visiting it because it’s the only Hemingway I read for school and I believe I liked it the least because I didn’t appreciate it. Or, I thought they were all whiny bitches who needed to stop drinking and get a real job. Anyway, after loving For Whom the Bells Toll, I want to give this popular title another chance.
  • Back of the book: The Sun Also Rises was Ernest Hemingway’s first big novel, and immediately established Hemingway as one of the great prose stylists, and one of the preeminent writers of his time. It is also the book that encapsulates the angst of the post-World War I generation, known as the Lost Generation. This poignantly beautiful story of a group of American and English expatriates in Paris on an excursion to Pamplona represents a dramatic step forward for Hemingway’s evolving style. Featuring Left Bank Paris in the 1920s and brutally realistic descriptions of bullfighting in Spain, the story is about the flamboyant Lady Brett Ashley and the hapless Jake Barnes. In an age of moral bankruptcy, spiritual dissolution, unrealized love, and vanishing illusions, this is the Lost Generation.

Note: I’m posting this now because I refused to blog during my week-long vacation to Hilton Head. I’m about three-quarters of the way through now and I’m hoping after Joel reads the rest to me to during our drive back to Michigan today, I’ll have it finished by tonight.

Leave a Reply

