New ideas, new ways of thinking about blogging

You know, it seems I write about 10,000 words a week for my job, but try to sit me down and write even a measly 100-word blog post for myself, and it’s like pulling teeth. Another two-and-a-half months have flown by sans blogging, and I’m OK with that. It’s been a busy summer. But as I was twiddling around here today, I realized that I do like using this blog as a sort of reading journal — if only for myself, rather than other readers. I mean, I was trying to fill out my summer 2011 reading list and I had a tough time remembering what I had read over the past month. Sad.

So, just as we’re trying to reinvent ways to bring community journalism to readers over the web, maybe I should re-think blogging beyond long, narrative posts. I mean, the fact that it takes me an hour and a half to write a review, coupled with the fact that I have very little time to myself, means it’s easier to avoid blogging all together. But that’s not good.

So maybe shorter posts that document my reading experience (and a little bit of real life, perhaps) is a better idea. Fewer “reviews” and more “diary-like” entries. Maybe that means this blog shouldn’t be public. Lord knows I’ve run into problems with way-too-public blog posts before. And I’ve stopped tweeting for much the same reason — the public/private walls were becoming too thin and it was freaking me out when casual acquaintances thought it was cool to discuss personal issues I had spent several agonizing hours blogging about.

Maybe I could think of this like a Tumblr, instead. Those people don’t seem to have a problem mixing short, random posts with a few well-placed personal items. And no one takes Tumblr seriously, right?

Maybe I should experiment with some formatting. I like doing that in my work-writing — definitely makes writing copious news stories easier and (I think) more interesting for the reader. Maybe I should avoid the Internet and get a regular pen-and-paper journal, like every other self-respecting writer. My handwriting needs the exercise.

Maybe I should stop mulling over it and just try some stuff out. Hmmm. Anyway, if anyone still reads this, bear with me. Or stop reading (if you haven’t already). Or, whatever. Just stay tuned. Things are changing ’round here.

One thought on “New ideas, new ways of thinking about blogging

  1. Your handwriting may need the exercise, but your wordsmithing sure doesn’t. Honesty + clarity + insights = readability.

    So flex any format that feels right. Bet I’m not the only reader who trusts your instincts.

Leave a Reply

