Beautiful Day at Your Neighborhood Library Sale

I love library sales. I don’t go to enough of them, but when I do, it’s always a good day. Our local library is having their bi-annual book sale this weekend and since I missed their fall sale, I knew I couldn’t miss this one.

I swear, Joel and I were there less than 30 minutes and we walked out with almost 1o books…for $12. All paperbacks — mass market and trade — were only a dollar. A DOLLAR That was how much I paid for the sale items at Half-Price with my employee discount…that’s a good deal. They had a fabulous selection, though I kept a running count of all the Eat Pray Love‘s I saw. Joel even found something! Here’s my haul:

That’s:

  • Possession by A.S. Byatt
  • Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
  • This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolf
  • The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
  • The Simarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris
  • Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
  • Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson

The old guy at the check-out is like, “You’ve got some good books!” I could only say, “I know.” The best part of the whole trip, though, may be my new copy of The Simarillion, which is the same copy my dad owns and may be in better shape. Plus, it completes my Tolkien collection. Behold:

Joel and I proceeded to have a wonderful day: lunching, grocery shopping, buying a new trashcan, cleaning our patio and buying flowers! Check out our front porch planters:

Hopefully they survive.

One thought on “Beautiful Day at Your Neighborhood Library Sale

  1. Thought of you today. Hamilton County Library had its warehouse book sale. Came home with 6 new books. I even pulled up your post to see what books you had purchased. I already had some of the ones you had listed but did get Olive Kitteridge. Also got Reading Lolita in Tehran, The Other-David Guterson, The Four Aggreements-Don Miguel Ruiz, In Defense of Food-Michael Pollan, and a book that looked interesting and compared to Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings novels-Secret Speakers and the Search for Selador’s Gate by K.S.R. Kingworth (will have to see if comparison is worthy. Support your local library and enjoy the reading. Have a great visit with your dad.

Leave a Reply

