Sunday Salon: Jan. 2, 2010

Happy 2011 everyone! I hope everyone’s New Year’s Eve was happy and bright, and that you enjoyed a relaxing New Year’s Day. I had a rather lost weekend myself. Joel and I spent most of Friday watching Lord of the Rings, taking a short two-hour break to spend with friends from out of town. The Lord of the Rings marathon ended around 2 a.m. Saturday, and we popped in the first of the three extended editions around 12:30. So, if you’re wondering how long it takes to watch the extended editions of all three Lord of the Rings movies: give yourself 12 hours. It was a good time, and though we didn’t watch every second, it was nice to revisit the world of Tolkien and if anything, it gave us something to do while I was on call and working.

Unfortunately, I slept in until 11 a.m. Saturday, then spent most of the day reading Atlas Shrugged. Today, Patch hosted a brunch for all the Michigan editors at The Whitney in Detroit. It was a lovely time, though by the time I got home, went grocery shopping, put things away and took down our Christmas deocrations, it was 6.  Ugh.  So much for the weekend, I guess. I was planning on working some tonight, but I’m just going to toss this weekend up to vacation and start anew tomorrow.

This week in blogging was pretty successful. I reviewed Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach, a book I enjoyed immensely. Last week marked the last Literary Devotional of 2010, with today being the last entry of the year. There’s a few other Intellectual Devotionals out there, one of which I’m seriously considering buying (The Intellectual Devotional: Modern Culture). I would be behind a week or two, but no matter. Though there were weeks where I fell behind, it was nice to have something to read every morning: a chance to learn something new or review something I learned in college or high school. Plus, it was a great addition to my routine and I’m going to miss that. Maybe I’ll pick up a new Devotional this weekend, maybe not.

I also came across a dozen cool articles this week, two of which—the Kickass Girls of Harry Potter and 25 Books to Quell Your Quarter-Life Crisis—I shared with you. Yeah yeah, I’m sort of cheating by bringing you the thoughts of others, but sometimes you find that others say it so much better than you. I have a few more news items to share with you this week, including thoughts on the big news out of my favorite bookstore, Half Price Books.

If you have some time, you should also check out some of new pages here at Paperback Fool. I’ve written out several of my top reading lists: everything from my list of Pulitzer winners, to Rory’s Reading List from Gilmore Girls. If you want to know how I choose what to read: these lists are it. They’ve got the classics and contemporary favorites, and I’ve studied them long and hard so that when I go to the bookstore and find a book “I’ve been meaning to read,” it’s more than likely from one of these lists. I thought that since this blog has become the hub of my reading life, some of my favorite lists deserved to be here as well. Of course, I’m not transcribing my complete reading list, as that is close to 40 pages in a Word document (not kidding). However, the lists here are a small taste of my reading process, and gives you a chance to see my status on said lists. Are you beating me? Let me know and maybe we’ll create a reading competition!

Until then, enjoy your first week of 2011 and happy reading.

Leave a Reply

