2010-11 winter reading list is…complete!

In constructing this winter’s reading list, I figured I would keep it short. Gone are the days when I could give myself 10-12 books to read in three months, knowing I would have more than enough time between work and play to finish them all.  Now, there are days when I work 15 hours, and the best way to relax is simply going to bed and getting more than four hours of sleep. I’m upset things have come to this, but for now, the books may be few and far between.

However, I have a feeling that some of my problems may have been due to what I’ve been reading. There’s nothing wrong with The Scarlet Letter, it just read SO slowly. Last night, when I finally finished and moved on to Stiff by Mary Roach, the reading was quick and engaging. So, we’ll see. Maybe now that the Birmingham Patch has been live over a month, I’ll not only have more time to read but more engaging books will make it so.

Stiff is, so far, amazing (just FYI). You know you have a good book when you find yourself muttering “Hm!” and “Ha!” under your breath, and then finding it necessary to share whatever fun fact with whoever you’re with. I can’t wait to read more.

And now, for that reading list:

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers – Mary Roach
The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
The House on Mango Street – Sandra Ciscernos
Cold Mountain
– Charles Frazier
Winnie the Pooh – A.A. Milne
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert M. Pirsig
Wicked – Gregory Maguire

Leave a Reply

