High school throwback…I love it!

I finished reading Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn last night—a perfectly adorable read that I’m going to review very soon, especially since I finished it off in two nights.  Then, because my life is dependent on lists and various other written reminders, I headed over here to see what was next on my Fall 2010 Reading List (capitalized to emphasize importance).  It’s rather sad when you can’t remember what you’re reading next, forced to check your own blog to jog your memory.  For pete’s sake.  Anyway, I was rather excited to find this next on the list:

That’s right, The Scarlet Letter!  Woooo.  Bring out the kegger, because this book screams one thing: party!

OK, maybe not.  But I am excited.   You see, The Scarlet Letter kicks off my latest reading project, Revisiting the Classics.  As part of it, I will be revisiting books I originally read in high school or college; books I didn’t think much of at the time, but are probably much better than I remember.  In my current attempt to educate myself, I make sure to give each classic I read a fair chance.  There aren’t any kind teachers proffering guidance anymore (or condescending egomaniacs flippantly tossing me a bone), and so it’s up to me to be patient, read critically, and seek to understand why said classic deserves that title.

Did I think this way in high school?  Not so much. Which is why it’s important I re-read the classics from my tender years, and seek to understand what my 16-year-old mind overlooked.  Maybe I didn’t miss anything at 16.  Maybe I peaked in Mrs. L’s sophomore American Lit class.  Hell, things could have been all downhill since then.  As depressing as that thought is, it could be true.  So I don’t promise any intellectual breakthroughs.  I hope to have a few (and, at the same time, justify this project’s existence).  But if I despised it at 16, I may still despise it at 24.  Only time, and some good reading time, will tell.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

