Elmore Leonard….um, wow

Time out.

So I finished Love in the Time of Cholera earlier today (hooray!) and started reading Djibouti by Elmore Leonard, which (like I mentioned yesterday) I’m reviewing for work.  I don’t want to make any rash judgments as I’m only page 24, and I’m TRYING really hard to give the crime-fiction genre a chance, but….well, I just finished reading this passage:

(Our heroine, Dara Barr, is speaking with a Somali pirate in a bar. Yeah, let’s not even talk about the plot yet).

‘You speak English so well—did you ever live in America?’
‘You detect that, uh?  Yes, Miami University in the state of Ohio for part of several years.’
‘Wow,’ Dara said. ‘What did you study
?’
‘It was my understanding you don’t study too much there.’

When I heard Leonard speak last night, he mentioned that he has a full-time research assistant who helps him with his books.  He said he has never been to Djibouti, which is OK, I guess.  But seriously dude: did you just close your eyes and pick a college blindly off a map?  Do you even know anything about Miami?  I mean, I know that I’m going to be biased.  But It was my understanding you don’t study too much there?!  What does Leonard think Miami is, a party school?  We’re not talking Ohio U. here.  Just…wow.

OK, maybe I’m overreacting. The fact that this “Dara Barr” recognizes the name says something, but yeah…that reference was sort of a dud.  And because this is my blog, I can overreact and complain all I want! Rarw!

OK, now you can all go back to your day.

One thought on “Elmore Leonard….um, wow

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon: October 17, 2010 « Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

