Guilty Pleasure

So, yesterday I walked into Borders looking to “treat” myself.  What I was meaning to treat myself with was a Moleskine reporter’s notebook, since I currently use the one I received for graduation present for grocery lists.  Plus, they may be pricey, but they’re oh so beautiful, and make me feel like I’m an old fashioned journalist.  I especially love writing an award amount should I lose it; hell yes my notes are worth $50.  Especially if they’re bound in such a beautiful product.

But before I could reach the notebooks, I had to make my way past Borders’ bargain books, which they place right in the entryway.  Now usually, I don’t take “bargains” at big box bookstores seriously.  I’m used to Half-Price Books people, and their amazing rock-bottom pricing (plus an employee discount or two).  Thirty percent off at Barnes and Noble? Pff.  Let’s talk about 50 percent off…ALL THE TIME…at Half-Price.  Yeah..take that.  Anyway, the bargains at Borders and B&N have never been good enough to woo me, but now that HPB is sorely missing from my life, I have to take what I can get.

And what did I see as I entered the Birmingham Borders? Only two books that I have been meaning to read for FOREVER, and at reasonably decent prices:

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig

and The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner

I totally had them tucked in the crook of my arm before you could say “budget.”  I mean, it was the last copy of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.  For $8.  How can I pass that up?

So, moving on, I found my Moleskine.  Then, I decided a quick dash upstairs to the nonfiction section was in order, especially since I had some free time and wanted to leisurely peruse the wedding section.  I was on the lookout for a good wedding planner, especially one with lots of pockets for magazine tear outs.  The binder-thing I have going on now just isn’t working.  Then, I found this:

The Ultimate Wedding Planner and Organizer by Elizabeth and Alex Lluch

This book is intense, but despite the fact that the authors look like creepy poster-people for some Midwestern religious cult, they know their stuff.  It has pages of worksheets for brides-to-be, so they can have everything from budget, to the seating arrangements at the ceremony, to the measurements of the groomsmen, all in one place.  Plus, it has this awesome accordion-folder thing that pops out, giving you plenty of room for the magazine tear-outs, paint samples (trying to figure out colors here, people), fabric swatches, and that sample DVD from the photographer.

Suffice it to say, I bought it.

So that, ladies and gentlemen, is how I ended up spending $50 at Borders at 2 o’clock in the afternoon…on a Monday…on a whim.  Guilty pleasure indeed.

One thought on “Guilty Pleasure

Leave a Reply

