Sunday Salon: October 10, 2010

OK, so it’s a little late for me to be writing this, but oh well.  It’s been a busy Sunday.  Beautiful, unseasonably warm, and busy Sunday.  Joel and I got up early this morning so we could make it over to a local fall favorite, The Franklin Cider Mill.  We tried going Saturday, but the place was swamped and getting into the place was practically impossible.  So we decided to go with the rest of the heathens while everyone else was in church, and it was lovely.  We haven’t tried the cider yet (still working on the gallon we bought from the Yates Cider Mill yesterday), but I’m sure it will be perfect.  I tell ya, I’m loving this whole ‘living in apple country’ thing.  Plus, we were able to watch the apples being pressed into cider; very exciting.  Then, there was grocery shopping, and finally getting around to everything we’ve been putting off the past few weeks: exchanging my summer clothes for my sweaters, picking out which clothes are going to the Salvation Army, unpacking and setting up my new printer, and cleaning out my old Dell.  The clunky old thing was so full of 6 years worth of computing, it could barely run.  So I deleted almost every unnecessary program (and a few necessary ones…oops), and am now making sure all my iTunes files are backed up on my external hard drive.  Time time time.

Happily, though, much of today and yesterday was spent reading my current book, Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  After slogging through The Bourne Identity, it feels good to get my hands on a quality piece of literature again.  And oddly enough, I’m whizzing through this Nobel Prize winner, whereas The Bourne Identity took me three gruesome weeks.  This goes to prove that bad books really do waste your time, literally.

Other than that, it’s been alright on the blogging front.  Except for yesterday and Friday (meh, couldn’t think of a poem or quote), I’ve been on schedule.  I brought you an article from The New York Times on the most recent Nobel Prize winner for Literature, Mario Vargas Llosa, and also pointed out that he once engaged in fisticuffs with the Nobel author I’m reading now, Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  I then let my boastful side take the better of me, sharing some recipes that aren’t really mine (Better Homes and Gardens), but that I made last week with great success.  Seriously, make that apple and sausage dish, because It. Is. Awesome!  And last, but certainly not least, I FINISHED and reviewed The Bourne Identity.  Thank God.  That review was certainly a long time coming, and I’m glad to put it behind me.  I’m not sure if I’ll finish Love in the Time of Cholera by tomorrow, but I know whenever I do, that review will be full of bigger and better things than whatever Ludlum has to say (sorry, am I coming off as too harsh?).

Until then, happy reading everybody!

Leave a Reply

