Sunday Salon: October 3, 2010

Gawwwwd, it feels good to be home.  This tired blogger comes at you from her homebase after spending a busy weekend down in Cincinnati, looking at wedding venues.  This involved packing ourselves (Joel and his dad did the manly thing and went to the Pumpkin Run, a yearly car show in Cincy), AND the kittens, then driving 5 hours down I-75 from Detroit to Cincinnati…during rush hour…on a Friday.  On Saturday, I woke up and put on my pretty clothes, then my mom, Joel’s mom and I headed out to check out potential sites for my nuptials.  It was a lot of fun, and I found two places I’m really interested in, but dang it sure was tiring, what with all the driving, walking, talking, taking pictures, envisioning.  These are my top contenders, if you’re interested:

The Krippendorf Lodge, at the Cincinnati Nature Center:

And the French House, at French Park:

Both are beautiful, and I love the way they’re not conference centers/on golf courses/have ugly green carpet.  The only problem is they’re nearly identical in price (and in my budget), and I love them both madly.  Their differences lie in how they feel, and so I guess I’ll have to do some thinking on themes and how I want my celebration to feel.  Thankfully, the wedding is a good year and 11 months away.  *Phew*

Other than that, this week has been sort of slow on the blogging front.  I’ve been MAD busy at work, and this week I had three straight days of meetings and interviews.  One day I was in the same coffeehouse for six hours….yeah.  Other than that, I posted a bit about Banned Books Week (who didn’t) and talked about Anthony Bourdain writing a graphic novel (fan squeal!).  I also took a walk down memory lane while also learning something new about Michigan, exploring Old Miami (the bar and my alma mater).  And because I didn’t review anything this week, I shared one of my favorite songs that remind me of autumn: “We’re Going to Be Friends” by the White Stripes.

And now, I really must be off.  I MUST finish The Bourne Identity tonight or…or…well, I don’t know.  I do think it’s bit obscene that I’ve been reading this damn Ludlum rag for more than two weeks, but I seriously haven’t found the time.  I am determined to finish it TONIGHT, so that I can review it tomorrow and get on to bigger and better things (namely, Love in the Time of Cholera).  And so enjoy this frosty fall weather, snuggle under a blanket with a sleeping kitten, eat a slice of apple pie, and read til content.  Repeat as necessary.

Leave a Reply

