Lit news I love

If you have a Twitter account, it’s easy to follow literary news.  I don’t want Paperback Fool to be redundant, because frankly, even I get tired of reading the same tidbits on Publisher’s Lunch, Omnivoracious, @booksilove, and various writers on the blogosphere.  But sometimes I come across news one actually wants to hear, new and exciting developments in publishing, books published by guys NOT named Jonathan Franzen.  Most of the time, I post these on Twitter.  Occasionally, I like to share them here.

Anthony Bourdain to write graphic novel

According to The Guardian,

“It’s about ultraviolent food nerds. It’s a gourmet slaughterfest, sort of like Fistful of Dollars meets Eat Drink Man Woman,” he told the Omaha World Herald. In another interview, he described the comic as a combination of Kurosawa’s 19th-century Japanese gangster film Yojimbo, Big Night, the story of two Italian brothers starting a restaurant in New Jersey in the 1950s, and Danish film Babette’s Feast, in which a Parisian refugee plans a culinary banquet to thank the twin sisters who took her in. “[Get Gyro is] an ultraviolent slaughterfest over culinary arcana,” said Bourdain.

I can’t imagine a better combination:  Anthony Bourdain + food + crude language + brilliant writing + graphic novel.  As part of my graphic novel binge (and I’ve only had good experiences so far), I think this will definitely be something I look forward to reading.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you would know it’s Banned Books Week

So go read something amazing like To Kill a Mockingbird.  It’ll change your life.

I’m watching “The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen”

And if it wasn’t such a corny movie, it might be kind of cool.  I mean, literary characters kicking ass and fighting crime?  It’s nice to know Victorian literature can be adopted by the steampunk genre, with Tom Sawyer, Dorian Gray and Mr. Hyde acting all dark and edgy.  Too bad the movie is ridden with ridiculous dialogue and bad CGI.  Joel recently read the graphic novel, which he really enjoyed.  And why not?  It is written by the legendary Alan Moore.  My question for the moviemakers is (because Joel assures me this is different from the graphic novel), why is Tom Sawyer here?  Characters from Dracula, The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde—OK.  They’re kind of badass.  But what does Tom Sawyer do?  Act mischievous, and stumble across some criminals with Becky Thatcher?  That’s not very scary.  Especially when the dude looks and sounds like he’s from California.

One thought on “Lit news I love

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon: October 3, 2010 « Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

