Sunday Salon: September 19, 2010

Happy Sunday everyone! It’s a crisp fall day in SE Michigan, and the leaves are just beginning to turn.  As the weather cools down, the leaves turn and I drink more apple cider, wedding plans have revved into full gear, as I begin to dream about how our event will play out this time of year, two years from now (two years from Wednesday actually, or, 734 days according to The Knot).

The blogging was good around Paperback Fool, even if I missed a few days here and there.  I blamed this on my continued re-adjustment to working at home, with this challenge being one I will continue to face as I move forward, finally finish my directory, launch my site, and then adjust to running my Patch site 24/7.   In good news, though, I finished and reviewed How Soccer Explains the World by Franklin Foer. I enjoyed it, but definitely liked History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters by Julian Barnes 10x more.  I finished that yesterday, and plan to review here tomorrow, so stay tuned.  Now, I’m about to face one of my biggest prejudices and crack open *gasp!* an action/thriller: The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum.  We’ll see how it goes.

Other than that, it’s been a busy but productive week.  I definitely accomplished a lot for work, although I still feel perpetually behind.  I met with quite a few Birmingham city officials, explored city hall, and got all my questions answered about the Birmingham Public School District.  I still have (what seems like) a thousand things on my to-do list, but what else is new. I also met with a new Patch Local Editor, hired to cover the adjoining city of Clawson, and she seemed great.  Plus, she’s the first Patch employee close to my age, which was refreshing.

Then, there were the pre-birthday celebrations (note: birthday is Tuesday!).  Yesterday, Joel and I went to the mall and bought my birthday present: a Northface jacket! My aunt bought me a Northface a few years ago, and while I definitely appreciated it and wore it all.the.time, it was…purple.  I love purple!—but not purple jackets.  Plus, it was a size too large and awkwardly bulky.  Not this one: it’s sleek, and fitted, and BLACK.  I’m so excited.  Tonight, we’re celebrating my birthday by going to dinner at the Townsend Hotel in downtown Birmingham.  Tres swanky.  This morning, Joel baked me a DELICIOUS apple crisp, using apples we bought at the local farmer’s market.  Pair that with some warm apple cider (also purchased at the farmer’s market) and, well, there are no words. Why all the pre-birthday love, you ask?  Well, Joel is going out of town this week for business, leaving me alone for my 24th with the kittens. But that’s OK.  Knowing someone loves me is all the present I need.

Here’s to hoping your week is full of love, birthday or not.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

