Sunday Salon: September 12, 2010

Good morning readers!  Welcome to Sunday.  This week has flown by for me, especially now that I’m entrenched in my third week as a full time employee of Patch.  It’s been endless hours of tedious computer work, coupled with training sessions and meeting with various members of the community I will be covering.  I haven’t figured out how I will be sharing my exploits at Patch with you (I received muddled responses to my blogging questions at training), but I’ll definitely be sharing stories I write and flooding you with links to the site once it’s launched.  We online journalists depend on those unique page views, so I expect all my readers to check out my site daily.  Even if you don’t live in Detroit…or Michigan…or care.  Erm, I’ll get better at blackmailing later.

Until then, back to reading!  I jumped back in my blogging schedule this week, even if it was a bit wonky.  I FINALLY posted my review of Stephen King’s The Stand.  I loved it, but that’s really no surprise considering I keep talking about how it’s one of my favorite books of all time.  But that’s OK, because I read The Stand as part of an effort to re-read my favorite books, one season at a time.  I explain this “Favorites Project” further in my Thursday post, as well as on my new Projects page, which I hope everyone has a chance to read.  Perhaps you might like to join me?

Other than that (poetry, quotes, etc), it’s been a busy week + weekend.  Joel and I went on a long-overdue shopping trip yesterday, and I finally bought some new shoes.  My black flats—which I wear almost EVERYWHERE—were pronounced dead a few weeks ago.  This extremely limited my number of outfit + shoe options, especially considering I got dressed up almost every day for work (Hey, I thought I signed up to work in my PJs…).  I ended up tromping around in a pair of old black heels, both of which were missing the rubber on the bottom.  So not only did I buy some super-cute flats yesterday, but some black, patent-leather, pointy-toed heels as well. Rawr.

Today Joel and I picked up the first apple cider of the season at the Birmingham Farmer’s Market (!).  I LOVE fall, and I LOVE apples, but I think the best part of the season is apple cider.  And we snagged the last gallon at the market…phew!  A few weeks ago, I had the wild idea of having our wedding at an apple orchard, but I think we’re going to settle on serving warmed apple cider (with cinnamon swizzle sticks) instead.  Mmmm.  Now, I’m off to continue reading History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters, and enjoy the rest of this brilliant day.

Leave a Reply

