Fall is here, and it’s time to read!

Well, it’s not technically fall until September 21 (my birthday!), but at Paperback Fool, the fall reading season starts in September.  Being a lover of all things autumnal, I’m more than a little glad to see the summer season winding down.  The heat has been pretty bad in the Midwest, and while I love my new swimsuit from ModCloth (I get to wear it at the lake this weekend!), I’m more a jeans, scarf and sweater type of gal.

So the summer kicked off with a fair amount of reading time—working at a bookstore wasn’t particularly taxing, and we were almost expected to read on our lunch breaks.  Then we moved, got settled, Joel started work and bam: I had nothing to do.  And so for about a month and a half, my reading schedule was on overdrive.  I burned through books, although Roots held me up longer than I would have preferred.  And I just yesterday finished Stephen King’s The Stand—one day past my summer deadline.  Tsk tsk.  I blame it on actually getting a job, and that job being quite the time-filler.

I expect much of the same this fall.  I’m launching my Patch site in less than two months, and so I’ll be a busy bee, trying to get everything done in time.  This week alone, I’ve been lucky if I can slip in an hour of reading a day.  Yikes.  But I have faced greater time crunches before, and have always managed to pencil in a bit of SSR (sustained silent reading…what they called it in high school) every day.  I have 11 books in the line-up this fall, which is around what I normally read in a season.  I believe I can finish them all before December, especially since two of them are rather thin.

I love this reading lineup for a lot of reasons.  There are two nonfiction titles I’ve been dying to read for ages, as well as some excellent literary fiction (I’ve been eying A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters for years).  I think there’s a good mix; Ludlum is followed by magical realism, rounded out by some classic YA.  The only books I’m skeptical about are the two Bourne books.  I enjoyed the film version of The Bourne Identity, which led me to “borrow” my dad’s paperback years ago.  They’ve sat on my shelves for years, as I was nervous they’d be a time-waster.  I’m usually not a fan of the action/thriller genre, but since I’m usually not a fan of thriller movies, I thought something as iconic as The Bourne Identity might be different.  We’ll see.

But anyway, here’s the complete list:

How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Theory of Globalization by Franklin Foer
A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters by Julian Barnes
The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum
The Bourne Supremacy by Robert Ludlum
Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabrial Garcia Marquez
Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn
Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach
The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Ciscernos
Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne

One thought on “Fall is here, and it’s time to read!

  1. Pingback: Revisiting the classics: a new reading project « Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

