Sunday Salon: July 25, 2010

Welcome, readers, to Sunday! Ah glorious Sunday.  It is a beautiful day here in southeast Michigan, so much so that Joel and I have turned off the AC and thrown open the windows to blue skies, a gentle breeze, and cool air. It is a bit late for me to be writing, but we had our obligatory grocery-shopping to do, which took up part of the afternoon.  We also visited friends who, yesterday, brought home a new puppy.  New puppies ALWAYS mean long playdates.

It’s been a good week of reading around here on Paperback Fool.  Late last week I finished The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, a review of which will be published here tomorrow.  Since then, I’ve been reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates, which I’m enjoying much more than I was yesterday, when I posted a quote from the book’s central protagonist, Frank Wheeler.  The plot has advanced significantly since then, and I’m still reveling in Yates’ expert use of language.  This week, however, I reviewed Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne, a book I enjoyed more than I thought I would.

This week has also been big for my job search.  On Wednesday, I shared all the stress and frustration that accompanies the job hunt.  However, what I didn’t report was that I met with a potential employer on Thursday and received some very encouraging/exciting news.  I won’t say anything yet (until everything is official, that is), but I hope to give my readers good news in the upcoming weeks.

In the meantime, this week has been relatively relaxing.  It was Joel’s first full week at work, thus my first week at home by myself.  I’ve been watching North and South on DVD, reading, laughing at bookstore bingo, and…well, writing about it!

This week will hopefully move me closer to a full-time job, as well as closer to finishing Revolutionary Road.  My brother will also be visiting Joel and I this weekend, and so I’ll have to have some posts ready to go during that time period.  He’s an environmental studies major with a golfing streak, so we’ll be heading to the Detroit Zoo and a putt-putt course.  Very fun.

Leave a Reply

