Stash Update: Survival of the fittest

That’s been the theme of my stash this month, as I pack on as many books and movies I can before leaving Half-Price Books for my new life in Detroit.  Right now, my stash is stuffed with $2 clearance books, $3 fiction titles, Lord of the Rings, and everything inbetween:

That’s Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson, Hometown by Tracy Kidder, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt, The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, The Odyssey by Homer, and Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach.  *Phew* I know.  Also on my stash are all three Lord of the Rings movies—the extended editions, of course.

And this doesn’t include the books I’ve borrowed this month.  As you know, I borrowed The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.  Next up is The Reluctant Mr. Darwin by David Quammen, which I’ve heard is very good.  I can’t remember the last time I read a science memoir (not counting Pollan’s book, which I’m considering food writing), so I’m pretty excited about diving into something new.  I’ve also been sitting on a chocolate cookbook, with the intention of copying a few of the recipes.  However, let’s not forget all the movies I’ve borrowed this month:  Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, Ironman, and Where the Wild Things Are.

I tell you, even I land a job in my field once I get to Detroit (journalism/publishing), I’m still going to miss my bookselling days at Half-Price Books.  For a booklover, the perks are unbeatable.

Leave a Reply

