Summer Reading List 2010

So there’s still a few days left in May, however as my spring reading list winds down and the weather gets hotter here in Cincinnati, I think it’s OK to pretend it’s summer.

I’m pulling no punches this summer, forsaking (as I always do) stereotypical “beach reads.”  I don’t actually believe in them, choosing to mix my “lite” reading whenever I feel like it.  So there’s a few Stephen Kings in there, just to keep things on the fun side, including probably my favorite book of all time:  The Stand.  Just like last summer, you gotta re-read the classics.  Robert Ludlum should also serve as a good literary lightweight, especially considering I plan on tackling Jonathan Sanfran Foer, Arundhati Roy, Zadie Smith and Alex Haley this summer.  The summer’s theme should definitely be:  getting around to all the books you know you should read.

I may be adding books, depending on how soon I land a job in Detroit.  However, I’m hoping the combination here serves as a good salve to this summer’s trials and tribulations:  uprooting, moving away from home, establishing myself in a new city.  Things change, life moves on, but luckily, books keep us grounded.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma – Michael Pollan
Bee Season – Myla Goldberg
Hearts in Atlantis – Stephen King
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Sanfran Foer
Around the World in 80 Days – Jules Verne
The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
Revolutionary Road – Richard Yates
Roots – Alex Haley
White Teeth – Zadie Smith
The Bourne Identity – Robert Ludlum
The Bourne Supremacy – Robert Ludlum
The Stand – Stephen King (re-read)

Leave a Reply

