Another good book sold!

My latest employee reccomend at Half-Price was The Attack by Yasmina Khadra.  I first read it during my last semester in college, in an English class on terrorism and literature of the 1990’s.  The class was positively fascinating (if you can imagine, considering the name), and this book was my favorite.  It details the story of a successful, secular Arab doctor happily living in Tel-Aviv, immediately after a suicide bomber destroys a restaurant.  When the bomber turns out to be his wife, the doctor must face the realities of terrorism, racism, and religious war in both Isreal and Palestine.

As I wrote on the slip of paper accompanying the book, the story puts a human face on what is often an abstract, political conflict, and complicates all traditional notions of “terrorism.”  I can’t think how to reccomend this book more than I already have, so go and check it out for yourself.  Don’t go looking for the copy I reccomended at Half-Price though—to my complete surprise, some girl came in and purchased a handful of good books, including The Attack!  Let me tell you, it’s a good day when you sell something other than Debbie Macomber and Clive Cussler.

If you’re not convinced it’s awesome, here’s a review from The New York Times.

Leave a Reply

