Classics Circuit

While I was trolling the blogosphere for new book blogs this morning (Tales of a Capricious Reader is a great site, by the way!), I happened across a blogging project called The Classics Circuit, a blogging tour of classic literature.  From what I’m able to glean from the website, the project is meant to encourage the reading of classic works, first by encouraging book bloggers to read and blog about them, while hopefully readers of those said blogs pick up on the habits.

I think this is a great idea.  The website says the project is now focusing on older classics written by deceased authors, but I can see this project eventually growing to include modern classics (or, books written in the past 20-30 years).  Right now, the circuit is currently touring Alexender Dumas, the author of such favorites as The Count of Monte Cristo and The Three Muskateers, but future tours promise to touch on Russian literature and the “Golden Age of Detective Fiction.”

Any project that encourages people to read more classics is fabulous in my book.  While I try to stay hip to the current publishing trends (though no publishing executive has ever contacted me about an ARC…lame), I believe a firm grounding in classic literature is crucial not only for an intelligent mind, but also for those looking to read, understand, interpret and study modern literature.  Though we may only be “book bloggers” and not MA students, book blogs are highly active in the pursuit of studying modern literature.  Every time we post a review, we are engaging in conversation about literature, sparking discussions and debates on themes, motifs or writing style.  In order to find the language and authority in which to do so, we must be fluent in the works that have preceeded us.  All authors descend from a lineage of influence stretching back to epic poetry and spoken word, and to ignore their presence is folly.  As intelligent readers and reviewers, we must immerse ourselves in the classics daily.

In other news, this is my second day off in a row (a rare event!) but I feel behind in my blogging due to an unexpected writing assignment.  Unexpected, but not unwelcome!  Last week, I applied for another job in Detroit, and was pleasantly surprised to find an e-mail from them waiting in my inbox Friday.  They wanted their candidates to perform a writing assessment, and so I’ve been immersed in that all weekend.  I refuse to give any more details than that—I’m highly paranoid about talking about pending jobs, believing if I talk about them, I won’t get the job.  As I applied to nearly 50 jobs last fall (or, that’s what it felt like), and only heard back from one (Half-Price Books—the one I got), I don’t know if I’m right to be paranoid.  But I will say it felt good to have a writing assignment again, and I only hope my mad skills impressed upon them how much I want to be a writer/editor.  Here’s to hoping.

Leave a Reply

