Dealing with the iPad, part 1

I really didn’t want to write about the iPad.  There’s already so much hullabaloo buzzing about the interwebs, I shouldn’t encourage any more “discussion” about (aka, fawning over) the stupid machine.  But, reading David Pogue’s two reviews of the device over at The Times got me thinking, and well, you know what happens when I think…

Let me preface this (rant) by saying a few things:  First, I’ve read enough tweets from bookish people to know the real emphasis should be on reading, not on mechanical devices.  From the perspective of the publishing industry and constant readers, it’s more important that people are reading books.  To hell with how they’re doing it.  I agree with this…sorta.  I’ll leave my ode to the printed page for another day, but I think the iPad is an exception to this caveat, and I’ll get to that later.

Also, even though I tend to agree with Pogue’s first review, I am in NO way a “techie.”  I’m dating an engineer who has the capability to build his own computer–I’m NOT this person.  I have decent computing skills on- and off-line, however, I was an English major.  I have a soft spot for Victorian literature.  While I don’t shun technology, it doesn’t impress me.  My Dell is 5-years-old, and you know what?  It still works, does what I need it to do, and is good enough for me.  I don’t have a smartphone.  This is due partly to my lack of funds, and partly to the fact that all I do is call and text people.  I don’t recieve e-mail like I did in college, so there’s no need to check it every 5 minutes.  I have a newish iPod, and I’ll admit, they’re the best portable music-playing device out there.  BUT, nowadays I only use it for long car trips.  I listen to the radio at home, and CDs in my car.  The point of all this?  I’m no expert on technology, and I’m not impressed by all that macho posturing: “Oh! Look at my new gadget! Because I can afford this, I’m so cool.”

Third and finally, I’ve never used an iPad.  I guess it’s important to say that, since Apple devotees are now going to automatically disregard everything I say.  All because I haven’t drunk the Kool-aid.  Well, whatever.

So, OK.  I didn’t really get into my thoughts about the iPad.  But I foresee this post growing to unnecessary lengths, so I’m splitting it up.  Stay tuned for the rest of my rant, and all you really need to know about the iPad (OK, maybe only the negative, biased part. But I swear, my bitterness is always entertaining.  Plus, the altar of all things Apple is open for worship 24 hours a day.  My rant won’t change anything).  Can’t wait any longer?  Here’s part 2 and part 3.

3 thoughts on “Dealing with the iPad, part 1

  1. Pingback: Dealing with the iPad, part 2 « Paperback Fool

  2. Pingback: Dealing with the iPad, part 3 « Paperback Fool

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the Kindle; or, what I think about e-readers « Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

