And now, the news from Twitter

These are from some of the links I posted on Twitter this morning.  Normally, I just keep my literary news with all my other random tweets from the day, but these were pretty cool and I wanted to share.

First, the finalists for the PEN/Faulkner award were announced today, and the line-up looks pretty impressive (that is, if you’ve been following the book scene this year).  As a reminder, the PEN/Faulkner award is America’s largest peer-juried prize for fiction.  Finalists include:

War Dances by Sherman Alexie
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories by Lorraine M. López
A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore
Sag Harbor by Colson Whitehead

We recently received Lorrie Moore’s novel in at the store, and I’ve been eyeing it at the register for days, wondering whether I should buy it.  And Sag Harbor has been nominated for nearly every major literary prize out there this year, so I’m not surprised on that count.

I also saw this link to a Huffington Post piece on the world’s most amazing libraries.  Check out these photos, and they’ll make you want to go on a library vacation (at least, that’s what I now want to do…)

The Canadian Library of Parliament, in Ottawa

Leave a Reply

