How will YOU be recieving your daily dose of Jane Austen this Sunday?

If you’re like me, you could be mulling over your 6th re-reading of Pride & Prejudice, aka the GREATEST. BOOK. EVER.  OK, maybe I’m exaggerating.  However, it’s still one of my favorites and after I watch the 2005 movie version to cap off the experience, I’m sure Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy will stay in my imagination for some time yet.

Or, if you haven’t been re-reading Jane Austen classics, you could tune into PBS tomorrow night (Sunday, Jan. 24) to see the first part in Masterpiece Theater’s production of Emma.  The series will air at 9 p.m. (in Cincinnati at least) during the next three Sundays, and has already been favorably reviewed by The Times.   If you’re unfamiliar with what The Times calls “Jane Austen’s most charming novel,” it’s the story of the willful and wrongheaded matchmaker, Emma Woodhouse and her exploits in love.  If you’re a child of the 90’s, think back to Alicia Silverstone in “Clueless”–a relatively faithful, Valley-girls adaptation.

I will definitely be watching, but I am going to admit:  Emma is actually my *least* favorite Jane Austen novel.  Perhaps I read it at the wrong time in my life, when I wasn’t able to fully devote myself to it (first semester, freshman year of college).  I still liked it, but it seemed a bit too long and veritably dragged on at times.  Hopefully the miniseries will be able to rescue my affection for it, and perhaps convince me to give the book another go.   From watching the trailers on Masterpiece Theater’s website, I’m happy to report that Mr. Knightley is young in this adaptation (and cute!), which makes the romance more believeable.  Plus, Emma’s father is played by Michael Gambon, the amazing Professor Dumbledore from Harry Potter.  If that’s not incentive enough, I don’t what is.

**On a similar note, I’m toying with the idea of writing primarily on the 2005 movie version of Pride & Prejudice in my reading update, instead of gushing about the book.  Not only is the novel a perennial favorite of mine, I have studied and wrote about it for a college class.  However, a few new impressions popped out at me during this re-reading (as they tend to do), and so I definitely want to share my thoughts on that.  It’s just that in that article from The Times, they reference the general uproar among Austen purists over the 2005 Pride & Prejudice, and I feel the need to defend what is arguably my favorite movie.  Plus, my argument goes to the heart of why we love Jane Austen.  I will mull this over for the next few days, and get back to you soon with my review.  Meanwhile, keep an eye out for reviews of Fierce Pajamas: A Collection of Humor Writing from The New Yorker and The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde.

One thought on “How will YOU be recieving your daily dose of Jane Austen this Sunday?

Leave a Reply

