Getting ready to embark on an adventure

Ahh, back to real life again.  The Christmas holiday is finally over, and while New Years is quickly approaching, the boyfriend and I have moved out of the parents’ homes (where we were staying for a week in order to partake in more holiday cheer) and back into our Cincinnati apartment.  I continue to work at Half-Price like a mad woman (who is growing ever more mad with Half-Price Books’ everything-is-20%-off-after-Christmas-sale), and Joel heads back to class next week.  Real life, right?

Wrong.  With the UC Bearcats set to play in the Sugar Bowl on New Years Day, myself, my Bearcat boyfriend and our friends will be heading down to New Orleans for the next couple of days to attend said shindig.  While we’re there, we’ll be enjoying the various New Years’ eve activities in one of America’s craziest, most beautiful cities.

I’ve never been a football fan myself (there’s a reason I went to Miami University, not Ohio State), and so the *football* part of this trip doesn’t particularly interest me.  Of course, it will be a worthwhile experience to be at a major BCS bowl game–something many people don’t get to do.  What I’m really excited about, though, is being in New Orleans, a city I’ve always wanted to visit.  Satisfying my francophilia, our hotel is conveniently located right next to the French quarter.  I’m also excited because of New Orleans’ literary history.  Besides being the setting for one of my favorite novels of all time–The Awakening by Kate Chopin–it is also the home of Ignatius J. Reilly, the indomitable star of A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole.  A statue of Ignatius happens to be down the road from where we’re staying, so I’m definitely going to drag my friends there.

If you have any ideas for neat places to visit in New Orleans, let me know!  We leave early-early tomorrow morning (1 a.m….ugh, what an ungodly hour).  Since I work today, I will be sacked out in the back, hopefully resting up for my 4 hour driving shift in Alabama or Mississippi.  I’m going to need lots of coffee for this one…

Also, the Christmas holiday has understandably distracted me from sufficiently updating this blog lately.  I have a few posts planned for the upcoming weeks, so keep an eye out for posts on

  • More annals of customer service, part 2 and 3.  With the Christmas shopping rush, and post-holiday sales, there have been plenty of hijinks and mishaps that have forever changed the way I see humanity.
  • New books and New Years’ resolutions.  Even though I’ll be in New Orleans for New Years, I have big plans for my New Years resolution, starring a new book I picked up from Half-Price yesterday.  Don’t worry though; I’m starting my project on Monday.
  • A review of Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence.  I won’t be starting a new book until I’m back from New Orleans, and so I’ll be reading my New Yorkers in the time being.
One thought on “Getting ready to embark on an adventure

  1. Pingback: 2010 In Review: Real Life | Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

