Early Christmas present!

Yesterday, my mom and I decided to go shopping on my day off and where did we end up: at Half-Price Books.  I know–go figure.  Anyway, I bought the books on my stash along with a Christmas gift for my dad (the world’s top birding locations…yeah, my dad is one of those guys), while my mom picked up this lovely volume as an early Christmas present to me: Better Homes and Gardens’ Anyone Can Cook. I borrowed the book earlier this week, along with a few other cookbooks, as part of my decision to learn how to cook (an avid baker, I lose total confidence when it comes to making anything else in the kitchen).  I fell in love with its delicious but simple recipes, and its “for dummies” explanation of everything from how to stock your cupboard, to the how-tos of dicing an onion.  She let me bring it home early, and so I plan to start studying in the evenings very soon.

Leave a Reply

